Please work from home Dad!

Standard
Image courtesy: https://images.app.goo.gl/FgeoaVJ8z3DJC87E6

A little round face, the beautiful pink cheek
Big brown eyes that are about to leak
The pleading look, the innocent appeal
Daddy do you really need to go to office?

Why don’t you work here, in your beautiful home desk
Where I can see you as I run down the hallway
So when I know you are here
I can come hug you whenever I want

I know Covid phase is over
I know my school has reopened
I know your office has restarted
But please work from home Dad!

I need to see you when I come home from school
I love having lunch with you
I cannot miss our laugh before my nap
I cannot miss our snuggles

I promise you I won’t shout or sing loud
When you talk to your manager or interns
I promise to be quiet
But please work from home Dad!

I love how you have now become
A part of my routine everyday
For three years now
In each and every way

Gone are the days
When I was a baby
When I would wait at the door
For you to come from office daily

I grew up in your WFH phase
From a toddler to a young girl now
And you being at home all the while
Has been the best part of it somehow

No more of the early morning convincing
No more anxiety and fears
Daddy was right here with me all day
No more of the parting tears!

I have loved this time so much
Though I know it was hard for you
With me interrupting your work,
Toying with your headphones, keyboard and what not!

Yesterday I overheard you say
You want to resume going to office
And I couldn’t imagine
How my life would now be

For you it may be as easy
As resuming life your earlier way
But I cannot suddenly adjust now
To you not being at home everyday

And hence I cannot but help
These tears that roll down
Please work from home Dad
Please work from home!

Leave a comment